‘Tis the season for Christmas carols!

This evening, I went with my family to our friends’ church. Every year, their church runs a Christmas carols service. There was 45 minutes of singing/Bible readings/choir items and then a 10 minute Christmas message. The gospel was presented really well.

I will digress momentarily, and briefly mention something that’s bugged me: how did the song writer know that “the beasts…knew that all men He surpasses”? See verse 2 of “Unto us a Child is born”.

Cradled in a stall was he
With sleepy cows and asses;
But the very beasts could see
That He all men surpasses.

Seriously? How did the writer know that? Did it say so somewhere in the Bible? We shouldn’t think “wow, imagine the awesomeness if that really happened” or “I’m pretty sure this happened LOL”. Especially for Biblical matters. Just something I thought I’d share. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

