Thoughts on Thanksgiving

Or thxgvng, if you so wish to butcher the English language.

All jesting aside, I think having a Thanksgiving Day is an excellent idea. Obviously, we don’t have that here in Australia. But there can be a tendency to only “give thanks” on Thanksgiving, and forget the other 364 days of the year (or 365 if it’s a leap year).

Regardless of whether our country celebrates Thanksgiving day or not, we should be constantly thankful for God’s blessing, both material and spiritual. Remember that everything we have comes from God, and don’t take it for granted. I know I do, sometimes, but I shouldn’t. I’m trying to appreciate more and more what I have been blessed with.

Food, family, truly wonderful friends, a peaceful country, a home to live in, a warm bed, clean water, air conditioning – how can I not be thankful?

Hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving! (to all my dear US/Canadian readers)

Leave a Reply

