Crazy, hailing weather

So yesterday night I was at a friend’s place for Bible study. A ferocious thunder/rain/hail storm started at about 11:30 pm, until quarter to 12. There already was a whole lot of hail in front of my friend’s garage door.

We had already finished the study, so when the rain and hail let up slightly, I said my goodbyes and ran to my car. I turned on the car, made a phone call while waiting for it to warm up, and then I left. When I turned on the wipers to clear the windscreen of the rain, I heard a loud swooshing sound, and then 2 piles of hail slid down the windscreen. At that point I knew that the storm wasn’t any old random hail storm; it was serious stuff.

Driving away, the road was very wet, so I drove carefully around corners and roundabouts. When I passed the 1st roundabout on my way home, I saw the most amazing sight. Hail literally covered the road, except for the wheel paths. That includes the shoulder, the grass and concrete median, and the pavement. I took some pics with a POC 1.3MP phone camera that I happened to have with me :( Better than nothing, but not much better, haha. Oh, and pardon that weird bug-shaped blotch to the right of center in the photos. I think something happened to the camera, resulting in that blotch.

The photos definitely don’t do it justice; I was going to go back with a proper camera, but I wasn’t able to get the car off my sloped front lawn, due to the abundance of hail. In the end, I didn’t think it was such a big deal to take photos. Still, next time I’m going to take my camera in case something like this happens!

DSC01245

Just in front of the car, while stopped on the shoulder

The big "hail drift" at the 2nd roundabout

The big "hail drift" at the 2nd roundabout; notice its size compared to the footprints!

There's 2 black spots; the spot nearer the center of the photo is my little bunch of keys for size comparison

There's 2 black spots; the spot nearer the center of the photo is my little bunch of keys for size comparison

Lol I poked my finger through the drift to illustrate the thickness of said drift; it's about 3" (7.5 cm) thick

Lol I poked my finger through the drift to illustrate its thickness; it's about 3" (7.5 cm) thick

The road was very slippery too. When I pulled over, the car slid a bit (about 30 cm) as it came to a stop. Also, while turning on the 2nd roundabout (which is where the below “hail drift” was), the car skidded slightly, despite me only turning at about 15 km/h. I wouldn’t go so far as to say it was scary; it was actually (dare I say) kinda fun.

Remember that all this is in October; in reality, the weather felt like July!

So, thanks for reading, yo.

Leave a Reply

