On “concern for one’s friends”

This isn’t really the title of the blog post I’ve linked from. But never mind. In all modesty, I think that my title suits the post rather well. Below, I’ve posted only a snippet of that post. That’s the part that got me thinking.

Some people surprise me in how interested in me in general, they seem. I can’t help but think, Wow, I wonder if they really care. They look like they actually want to know what I think, or how my day went! I also can’t help but want to be more like that. Scripture tells us that we’re supposed to consider others more highly than ourselves. Wow, I wish I could live like that. I wince recalling past awkward conversations when I’ve turned the conversation to me, and what happened to me the other day, and what my opinion about this and that is, merely because I couldn’t think of anything else to say. *Sigh* [italics are as is in the original post; bold emphasis is mine]

Wow. That’s exactly how I think sometimes! I can think of a few of my friends in particular who are exactly like that. I do wish that I could always have that sort of mind, showing genuine concern for others. Not that I don’t have it, mind you. I just need to have it more. That’s something I need to grow in. What do you think?

Leave a Reply

