A good remedy for a sore throat

You will need the following (and I quote):

  • 1 standard drinking glass of hot to warm water
  • 1 teaspoon of cayenne powder [I used 1/4 of a teaspoon]
  • a couple pinches of salt for good measure (most people say its not necessary but it won’t hurt)

Stir vigorously, and gargle. That’s all. Visit this site for further details.

It worked quite well for me, although I found that a 1/4 teaspoon was more than enough. If you don’t like hot and spicy foods, then this isn’t for you! My mouth did burn a bit, but rinsing it out with cold water helped that.

I wonder why it does that, you may ask. Well, I think that cayenne pepper (a kind of chilli powder) contains anti-inflammatory or pain relieving agents. I’m not a chemist or doctor, not by a long shot. But that’s what my (very) brief research tells me. I’m just happy it worked.

You know the best part about getting sick? Getting better. And that’s what is happening to me now, slowly but surely. It’s probably a combination of cold+flu tablets and rest and fluids. God is so good.

Leave a Reply

