Mercy? Forgiveness? Grace?

What’s the difference, you ask? Time for an analogy*!

Mercy = you hit me and then…I don’t hit you back
Forgiveness = you hit me and then… I don’t hit you back and I say “it’s alright!”
Grace = you hit me and then… I don’t hit you back and I say “it’s alright!” AND I buy you a drink!

In more appropriate and generic (albeit less analogical) way:
Mercy = not getting what we deserve (hell)
Grace = getting what we do not deserve (heaven)

Interesting way to think about it, huh?

*This is probably one of the best analogies to illustrate this point, but it’s flawed because God is infinite in His mercy, grace, judgment, and being. Hence why I included the 2nd definition.

Leave a Reply

