Sunlight – Reilly

Edit: Get my “Sunlight” chords from this post!

This song, Sunlight, is by an alternate/violin Christian rock band named Reilly. I watched their music video of this song and the lyrics really struck me. I was particularly awestruck by the words that I’ve highlighted below…not to mention the music is brilliant! Enjoy :)

You are the treasure that I am after
Some look for riches some look for power
Just give me eyes to behold your beauty
To keep me lost in wonder after wonder

You are the father of every prodigal
running into the arms of sick and soiled souls
You make me whiter than the winter’s snow
You cover over the ashes on the inside

Sunlight, daybreak, chasing all my shadows away

You’re in the whisper between two lovers
igniting passion long after the altar.
You are the reason I sing
You are the reason I sing

Sunlight, daybreak, chasing all my shadows away

You shine a white light into my blind eyes
And now I’ve seen you truly for the first time
This revelation of my desperation
brings me to Calvary, brings me to salvation
You resurrect me, you rearrange me
you make my heart beat to another symphony

You’ve pursued me like you think I’m worth it
And Savior now I know that I do not deserve this

Sunlight, daybreak, chasing all my shadows away.

The lyrics really speak for themselves! By His awesome grace, Christ shows us our great need for him, and this “revelation of our desperation” brings us to the cross, brings us “to salvation” in Him. Thereafter, the Holy Spirit continues to sanctify us (change us to grow in holiness) everyday, rearranging us and making our hearts beat “…to another symphony”. Isn’t that just so awesome and wonderful!!!

[First posted on my Facebook profile on 4 July 09]
11 responses to this post.

  1. […] Posted by Paul in Uncategorized. Leave a Comment This is another song by the Christian alternate rock band, Reilly. I previously posted another of their songs, Sunlight. […]

    Reply

  2. […] to buy the whole album off iTunes! I posted few of my thoughts about "Sunlight" on my blog. Have a read if you'd […]

    Reply

  3. […] finished chording a major part of “Redeemed” this evening; I can somewhat tab a part of “Sunlight”, and I’ll probably start working on its chords in earnest tomorrow. I’ll post the […]

    Reply

    • Posted by hinkbake on October 6, 2009 at 3:51 pm

      Just wondering if you ever got the chords done for Sunlight? Fantastic song.

      Reply

      • Posted by Paul on October 16, 2009 at 11:45 am

        I agree, it’s brilliant!

        Yep, I’m working on them. I have a fairly good idea of the chord sequence; should be done in the next week or so :)

  4. Posted by Josh on November 6, 2009 at 11:32 am

    ok do you have the chords done for sunlight?

    Reply

  5. […] a comment today, asking whether I had done the chords for Sunlight. Upon seeing it, I noticed another comment from someone else, posted a MONTH ago, to which I had replied “…should be done in the […]

    Reply

  6. Posted by ZAK SMITH on May 28, 2010 at 5:43 am

    I am not joking around. My teacher is actually the lead singer of the band! Wow, I can not believe that this is actually him!!!!!!!!!!

    Reply

  7. […] Pretty good huh. The section I’ve highlighted above (which is kinda the bridge in this song) reminds me of the bridge in another song, namely, Sunlight by Reilly. […]

    Reply

  8. Posted by edgardo soto on December 28, 2011 at 1:54 pm

    wooooooooooooooow! so great song! what a messege! May God bless you all

    Reply

Leave a Reply

